John Barnard

Head of MQ French School Programs & French teacher

Who am I?

My name is John William Barnard, and my wife is Kimmie. We’re both from Florida; we met in 2014, and we were married in 2016. A few months later, we moved to New Hampshire so that I could complete a master’s in linguistics.

In 2013, I tried to find a job in Québec, but without success. I went back to Florida, discouraged and confused, because I was certain that God wanted me to be a missionary there. At the same time, Kimmie came back to the same town from Atlanta to take a position as a French teacher, while I was working as an English teacher at a local university. Neither of us knew exactly why we had come back to where we had grown up. But through our sisters, we met each other that fall. What at first seemed to be one of my greatest disappointments became one of my greatest blessings, since I had finally met the partner in mission work that God had been saving for me.

A few months after getting married, we moved to New Hampshire. Even though I had applied to several universities in the U.S., God confirmed that he wanted us to be missionaries in Québec by giving us a full scholarship to the University of New Hampshire, even though we had not applied for one. We have been able to go regularly on trips to Québec to worship with other Christians and take part in mission projects.

My calling

When we arrived in New Hampshire, we knew that we were where God wanted us to be before the time was right to go to Québec. However, we had no idea how we were supposed to get there from New Hampshire. God gave us the answer in a very unexpected way. A few days after graduating with my master’s from the University of New Hampshire, I had a grand mal seizure. This forced me to work as my wife’s assistant, since she is the French teacher at a school where we live, instead of finding my own job at another school in the region. Together we have completely remade the French program at this school, which has given us experience in directing a language school. During this time, our friend Pat Auger introduced us to the president of SEMBEQ, François Turcotte. We shared our plan with him to create a French language school, and all of us decided to go ahead with the project. We are currently praying and working to create a French immersion school that will help Christians go all over the world and talk to others about Jesus in their own language.

My role in MQ and SEMBEQ is to direct the MQ French School by developing and teaching courses in French for missionaries and students of theology. The objective of our school is to prepare Christians to become actively involved in the French-speaking world, for the Kingdom of Christ.

My objective is to train, and send out Christians everywhere in the French-speaking world to love people in their own language. My vision is to establish a school that offers courses in French that meet the needs of missionaries, students, and Christians who want to move to French-speaking areas. For the moment, I am the only one developing the school’s curriculum, designing the programs, and teaching classes. However, as our dream begins to take shape, I hope to recruit other instructors who will teach this important missionary language to more and more students in a growing school. We hope to be able to open one campus in Montréal for Christians who want to live there, and another one in Trois-Rivières for those who want to study French as a theological language, or who want to leave on mission trips.

You can be part of the story

CANADA

Donate

UNITED STATES

Donate

John Barnard

Responsable des programmes de l’École de langue MQ & professeur de français

Qui suis-je

Je m’appelle John William Barnard et ma femme est Kimmie. Nous venons de la Floride ; nous nous sommes rencontrés en 2014 et nous sommes mariés en 2016. Quelques mois plus tard, nous sommes déménagés au New Hampshire pour que je puisse faire une maîtrise en linguistique.

En 2013, j’ai essayé de trouver un emploi au Québec, mais sans succès. Je suis donc retourné en Floride, découragé et confus, parce que j’étais certain que Dieu voulait que j’y sois missionnaire. Au même moment, Kimmie y était aussi retournée depuis Atlanta pour occuper un poste d’enseignante de français. Je travaillais comme enseignant d’anglais à l’université locale. Ni elle ni moi ne savions pourquoi nous étions de nouveau dans la ville où nous avions grandi. Mais nous nous sommes rencontrés cet automne-là par l’entremise de nos soeurs. Ce qui me semblait d’abord être une grande déception était devenu une très grande bénédiction, parce que je savais que Dieu m’avait enfin donné ma partenaire pour le champ missionnaire.

Quelques mois après s’être mariés, nous sommes allés au New Hampshire. J’avais postulé à plusieurs universités ailleurs aux États-Unis, mais Dieu a confirmé qu’il voulait que nous soyons ses missionnaires au Québec en nous donnant une bourse scolaire complète à l’Université du New Hampshire, sans qu’on ne la demande. Nous avons pu faire des voyages réguliers au Québec pour adorer Jésus avec des chrétiens québécois et participer à des projets missionnaires.

Mon appel

Une fois arrivés au New Hampshire, nous savions que nous étions là où Dieu nous voulait avant notre venue au Québec. Toutefois, nous ne savions pas comment nous étions censés y arriver depuis le New Hampshire. Dieu m’a fourni la réponse d’une façon inattendue quand, quelques jours après avoir obtenu mon diplôme, j’ai été frappé d’une crise épileptique. Cela m’a forcé à travailler en tant qu’assistant pour ma femme plutôt que d’aller chercher un travail dans une école dans la région. Ensemble, nous avons totalement reconstruit le programme de français à l’école où elle travaille, ce qui nous a donné de l’expérience dans la gestion d’une école de langue. Pendant cette période, notre ami, Pat Auger, nous a présenté au président de SEMBEQ, François Turcotte. Nous lui avons partagé notre plan pour une école de langue française, et nous avons tous décidé d’aller de l’avant. Nous prions et travaillons actuellement à mettre sur pied une école d’immersion française qui aidera des chrétiens à aller partout dans le monde parler de Jésus aux autres dans leur propre langue.

Mon rôle dans MQ et SEMBEQ est de diriger son école de langue en développant et en enseignant des cours de français aux missionnaires et aux étudiants en théologie. L’objectif de notre école est de préparer des chrétiens à s’impliquer d’une façon active dans le monde francophone, pour le royaume de Christ.

Mon objectif est de former et d’envoyer des chrétiens partout dans le monde francophone pour aimer les autres dans leur propre langue. Ma vision est d’établir une école qui offre des cours de français correspondant aux besoins des missionnaires, des étudiants et des chrétiens qui veulent aller dans des régions francophones. Pour le moment, je suis le seul à développer le curriculum, à concevoir les programmes et à les enseigner. Toutefois, au fur et à mesure que notre rêve se réalise, j’espère recruter d’autres enseignants qui pourront enseigner cette langue de mission aux étudiants d’une école grandissante. Nous espérons établir un campus à Montréal pour les chrétiens qui veulent y vivre et un autre à Trois-Rivières pour ceux qui veulent étudier la théologie ou partir en mission.

Tu peux prendre part à son histoire

Faire un don