Grant Nelson

Pastor in Training at Église Connexion in Plessisville

Who am I?

My name is Grant Nelson. I was born and raised in Courtenay, BC on Vancouver Island. I taught French Immersion in Courtenay for the past four years, the same program I was enrolled in as a child. I enjoy playing tennis, going for hikes in the great outdoors and playing the guitar.

My calling

I came to Québec for the first time in 2011 and it is then that I saw its spiritual needs up close for the first time. I went back a few years later in 2015 to participate in JBEQ, a summer program for young adults, which allowed me to grow in my faith and serve many churches all over Québec. That summer stood out for many reasons. Personally, the program helped me grow in my understanding of God’s love for us and I began to see more clearly that God wanted to show that love to Quebecers. That summer with JBEQ was so influential in my life that I continued to come back summer after summer. I came back as a participant, as the coordinator of the program in 2017 and then as a volunteer so that I could continue to build relationships with the young people there. Throughout these opportunities, God also guided me towards moving here to Québec.

My role this year will be to serve with Église Connexion in the small town of Plessisville as a pastor in training. I will continue to lead a small group, teach Sunday School, preach from time to time, and continue to develop relationships with people in the community.

Also, I will be serving with Mouvement Jeunesse (the new name for JBEQ), working as one of the leaders for the summer program and the Academy, the new yearlong internship program. I am excited to walk alongside young adults to see them becoming more and more like Jesus.

You can be part of the story

Grant Nelson

Pasteur en formation à l'Église Connexion de Plessisville

Qui suis-je

Je m’appelle Grant Nelson. Je suis né à Courtenay, en Colombie-Britannique, sur l’île de Vancouver et c’est là où j’ai grandi. J’ai enseigné pendant quatre ans le programme d’immersion française à Courtenay, le même programme que j’ai fait quand j’étais jeune. J’aime jouer au tennis, profiter de l’extérieur en faisant des randonnées et jouer de la guitare.

Mon appel

Je suis venu au Québec pour la première fois en 2011 et c’est là où j’ai vu pour la première fois les besoins spirituels des gens du Québec. Je suis revenu en 2015 comme participant dans le programme d’été de JBEQ qui m’a permis de grandir dans ma foi et de servir les églises du Québec. Cet été m’a marqué pour plusieurs raisons. Personnellement, le programme m’a aidé à grandir dans ma compréhension de l’amour que Dieu a pour nous et je voyais plus clairement que Dieu voulait montrer cet amour au Québécois. JBEQ m’a marqué tellement que j’ai continué à venir participer les étés suivants. Je suis revenu comme participant, comme coordonnateur du programme en 2017 et aussi comme bénévole pour cheminer avec les jeunes adultes. À travers ces expériences, Dieu m’a dirigé à m’installer ici au Québec.

Mon rôle cette année va être d’œuvrer dans l’Église Connexion à Plessisville comme serviteur en formation. Je vais diriger un petit groupe, aider avec l’école de dimanche, prêcher de temps en temps et bâtir des relations avec les gens de la communauté.

De plus, je vais aussi servir avec Mouvement Jeunesse (le nouveau titre pour JBEQ) en travaillant comme un des leaders du programme d’été et de l’Académie, un programme de stage d’un an. J’ai hâte de cheminer avec les jeunes adultes pour qu’ils puissent ressembler de plus en plus à Jésus.

Tu peux prendre part à son histoire

Faire un don